Through My Eyes

Timing was everything.

The Return of Portlandia

leave a comment »

Sometimes, I pat myself on the back for reading long articles. This is a really good one about the relationship between Carrie Brownstein and Fred Armisen, on and offscreen. They are both the minds behind and stars of the hit IFC series, Portlandia. The residents of this make-believe-oh-wait-this-is-sort-of-all-too-real city make SF and Brooklyn hipsters look like yuppies on Wall Street.

I don’t necessarily relate to Carrie 100 percent. Granted, I do frequent karaoke bars way too often, (not-so-secretly) hoping that one day, a producer will be scouting and discover my raw talent and potential as an enigmatic front-woman for an indie band. You wish I was joking. I did want to girl bond with her when I read her sentiments on relationships and wanting to keep parts of her life (and personality) separate.

Yes, it’s a seven-page article, but honestly, you waste your time doing much worse. Like pinning things on Pinterest or adding obscure items to your wish list on Amazon.

Written by winniewongsf

December 27, 2011 at 2:09 am

Leave a Reply

