Through My Eyes

Timing was everything.

Unfinished Business (aka The Project Plateau)

leave a comment »

A Light at the End of the Tunnel. My own little project. I’ve yet to find that particular person to tell their story. Apparently, Mexican migrants who have contracted AIDS/HIV in the U.S. aren’t the most willing to share their experience with the rest of the world. No surprise there.

It first started as a story about my friend, Fernando Castillo, the first chef of SF’s Project Open Hand and founder of El Grupo, one of the nation’s first Latino AIDS/HIV advocacy groups. When he opened my eyes to the larger problem affecting communities in Mexico, I decided to dedicate the film’s concept to exposing the epidemic abroad and the lack of coverage in the media. It hasn’t been as easy as I initially anticipated, with full-time graduate work and side projects to preoccupy my time. This summer, I’m only registered for two classes, Evolution of Media and Interactive Design, thus I should have more time to actually shoot some interviews and meet with medical/socio-cultural experts to talk about the film subject.

I have noticed that it is difficult to go back to project ideas that are incomplete. For instance, I have hours of great interviews and footage from the past three months that I should go back to, review, and edit into valuable content to be shared. However, I find myself pushing these tasks further and further out on my Google calendar – “things I need to do before summer’s over.” I don’t think I’m the only one with this problem.

Source: Brain Pickings

Scott Belsky (Founder & CEO of Behance) talks about ways we usually or can avoid a ‘Project (or idea) Plateau’ –

1) Escaping the Project Plateau with a new idea

2) Seeking restraints – set some deadlines, milestones, expectations, goals

3) Seeking competition/consider the timing (is someone else doing the same thing, if so, beat them to it – execution or distribution, that is!)

4) Look at the bigger picture

5) Determine whether it’s worth it

6) Consider whether you’d actually want to work on the particular project or idea everyday for an extended period of time. If not, review#5.

I’ve included Belsky’s talk in case you want to hear it from him. I came across this today on one of my favorite blogs, Brain Pickings.

Written by winniewongsf

June 6, 2011 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

