Through My Eyes

Timing was everything.

Roundup

leave a comment »

When you live in a city like San Francisco, the amount of activities – that involve all the senses – available to you throughout any one week is overwhelming. Here’s what I’m excited about this week:

Thursday JapanAidSF is a Noise Pop sponsored music extravaganza & benefit my friends JT and Mieko Yeh (brother-sister team) are throwing at the Make Out Room from 7-10pm. Online ticketing is available for $15 (covers entrance) and comes with one raffle ticket. Online Raffle tickets are also being sold until Wednesday night, so get them while you can – if not, you can also buy them at the event. In fact, I’ll be selling them at the table by the stage from 7:45-8:45 that night, so come drop a line or two and keep me company. So many incredibly generous donors and worthy prizes – *some of them not even listed.*

Friday – Muni Diaries, also at the Make Out Room from 7:30 – 9:30pm. Ok – so I probably won’t go to this since I refuse to pay to hear stories about smelling stale urine in the mornings on the way to work, turning away from the unsightly genitals of a wandering derelict on the 38 Geary, and watching two elderly Chinese women duke it out for a seat on the crowded 1 going up Sacramento any time between 4 and 7pm on a weekday. I can get that talking to my friends and former co-workers. Since you really can get a feel for a city once you use it’s public transportation, I’d recommend this to someone who’s new to SF or simply just visiting.

Saturday – And what would we do without our farmers markets? Not only can we get the most savory, satiating porchetta sandwich from the Roli Roti truck on Thursdays at the Ferry building, inexpensive, fresh, and organic produce at the Civic Center on Wednesdays, and tasty Mexican street fare at Alemany, we now have the SF Underground Market, hosted by ForageSF.  It’s something I’ve wanted to try for myself since its inception, and finally plan on doing so, along with my friend Liz, this weekend. Here’s a recent NYT article about the monthly event. Try and tell me those pork belly banh mi(s) do not make your mouth water. Unless you’re vegetarian, or vegan, or on a strict microbiotic Gwyneth Paltrow pre-Mario Batali co-hosting days diet. Then, I’d just feel sympathy for you.

Written by winniewongsf

April 20, 2011 at 12:25 am

Leave a Reply

