Through My Eyes

Timing was everything.

Will not judge a bar by it’s…

leave a comment »

I must admit – I have been judgmental. There have been various instances in which I’ve said or written things that I know I can’t take back. For instance, my last post bagging on R Bar. Without giving thorough consideration, I wrote it off as just another dive in the city.

Last night, I spent some time talking with the 30 something year-old bar manager of House of Shields, and I feel like he shed some light. When I asked which SF establishment he has most enjoyed working at over the last few years, R Bar was at the top of his list. It came as a surprise, but he answered with such clarity, confidence, and belief, I gained a newfound respect for that little dive, and especially for him. In a city where you wouldn’t blink an eye walking through the doors of a drinking hole to see more cleavage behind the bar than bottles, it’s refreshing to meet someone who holds his head high, speaks with nostalgia for the days when bartenders wore vests and patrons practiced good manners, and has a deeper knowledge of local history, landmarks, and everyday people…I think I’ve found my new go-to. Actually, make that two.

Written by winniewongsf

April 6, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

