Through My Eyes

Timing was everything.

Anxiety

leave a comment »

We have 2 weeks until the shoot.  The pre-production meeting is next Thursday, and I’ve yet to sit down to actually write a treatment/shot list for the project.  (I’ve been told we may not need a treatment since it’s going to be a short, but I can’t help feeling like we would be walking onto the set blind without one…)  Meeting with Fernando and Joey on Thursday for lunch to talk about Joey’s part in the project.  I don’t know how we’re going to fit everything into a 15-20 minute project.  The thought of this makes me nervous.

On another note, I’m not sure what to do in terms of work.  I’m only working 1, sometimes 2 nights a week, and living in SF is not getting less expensive.  Actually, the more projects I’m involved in, the more events I attend, the more I spend on commuting, eating out, …you get the picture.  There are so many opportunities out there, but it seems like they are either unpaid or I don’t yet have enough technical experience to justify taking them on.  I’m not sure how long I can intern, freelance, and pay for school without feeling operationally incompetent working only 1 – 2 nights a week, if that.  In a perfect world, I would find a part-time job working alongside a documentary filmmaker who only needs me from M-F between 1:30 and 6pm and weekends between 10am and 6pm.  Keep dreaming, Winnie.

How do people in the film/media industry manage their time so that they are active, fed, well-rested, AND have time to knock off a few items on their reading list?  At the rate things are going, I can’t even imagine going a day without checking my Google calendar…

Written by winniewongsf

July 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

