Through My Eyes

Timing was everything.

Restaurants are to SF what film studios are to LA

with 2 comments

There have been multiple times during my 3.5 years here when I have felt “starstruck” when spotting or meeting a chef.  There was the time when I was on a date at Absinthe, and we asked if Jamie Lauren (one of the past contestants on Bravo’s much-loved Top Chef) would come out to meet us.  There was another time at Out the Door, off of Fillmore, when I shook hands and briefly chatted with Charles Phan.  I even got a little hot and bothered when I was browsing racks, elbow to elbow, at Macy’s in Union Square, with another Top Chef contestant, who (to be honest) didn’t even seem all that impressive on the show.

Are we obsessed with food?  From what I’ve observed since coming back from my SE Asia trip – even though I’m unquestionably “under-employed,” I’m still spending the same amount of money and frequenting the same type of places I was going to when I was receiving a direct deposit of a F/T paycheck twice a month.  The way I try to justify how and what I consume on a daily basis remains mind-boggling.  I’ll skip riding the bus a few blocks to save the $2 fare, but that same day, I’ll order a locally sourced, organic, gourmet meal from a Zagat-rated, Tablehopper-approved, 5-star Yelp-reviewed, Thrillist-email blasted restaurant thinking, “Ah, this is the good life.”

In this city, we talk about food more than we talk about anything.  I’ve come to realize that some of the longest conversations I’ve had with others have revolved around the places we’ve tried, ones we’d recommend to friends, those we’re dying to try, and the actual physical reactions we’ve had to flavor combinations/creations/delicacies we’ve put in our mouths.  Hell, I feel like I gain a few pounds just talking or thinking about all the pig parts I’ve consumed in the last 12 months.

We’re so fortunate to be surrounded by such amazing resources.  The farms, the vineyards, the dairies…this area has it all.  You couldn’t eat badly even if you tried, with all the options available.  Yes, there are chains in San Francisco.  But really, look around, there are a lot of mom and pop places, as well as “foodie” places to get your munch (or brunch) on.  You really can have your pick here.

Trust me, it pains me every time I have to shell out anything close to $10 for a sandwich (which I could definitely make at home), but when someone like Jamie Lauren is handing it to you, who could resist?

Note: I do plan to find another p/t job to support this lifestyle of luxury eating.

Note (post-publish): I can’t neglect to say that finding a job serving in this city doesn’t require you to sleep with the manager (as it might for actresses with directors in the film industry); however, it almost requires that you have tattoo sleeves, at least one facial piercing, an alternative sexual orientation, and skinny jeans in every wash, if not several pairs of “jeggings“.  Ok, I’m stepping off the box now.

Written by winniewongsf

April 9, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I’ll skip riding the bus a few blocks to save the $2 fare, but that same day, I’ll order a locally sourced, organic, gourmet meal from a Zagat-rated, Tablehopper-approved, 5-star Yelp-reviewed, Thrillist-email blasted restaurant thinking, “Ah, this is the good life.”

    hahaha….LOVE this posting winnie!!

    Monica

    April 10, 2010 at 9:41 am

  2. I think see a solution to your final point – get started on a full sleeve. Maybe a dragon devouring a map of Southeast Asia with the caption “Do you even know where all this comes from?” You can work on the rest later after that is done.

    Nate

    April 13, 2010 at 11:01 am


Leave a Reply

